Search form

Warning message

Please note that this article is no longer current, but is being displayed for archival purposes.

Applications Requested for Robert L. Brown Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award

Monday, August 14, 2017 - 14:13

The Robert L. Brown Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award is administered by Associated Universities Inc. (AUI) and the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) on behalf of Bob Brown’s friends and family to honor Bob’s life and career. The award is given each year to a recent recipient of a doctoral degree from any recognized degree granting institution in the United States, whose doctoral thesis is substantially based on new observational data obtained at an AUI facility (NRAO, GBO, LBO, ALMA) and considered to be of an exceptionally high scientific standard.

The Award is available to degree recipients of any nationality and consists of $1,000 USD, a framed certificate, and an invitation to give a colloquium at the NRAO.

Application Guidelines
To be eligible, the applicant must have successfully defended their thesis during the calendar year of the award. The deadline for receipt of applications and supporting materials for the 2018 Award is 31 December 2017.

Applicants should send an email describing their dissertation, the date of their successful thesis defense, the date of the degree award, and the name and contact information of the primary thesis supervisor to

A copy of the thesis as a PDF file should be sent via email to the same address or made available via a link given in the email. Published papers or papers in press, or portions thereof, based substantially on the dissertation should accompany the application or made available via a link given in the email. Verification of the successful thesis defense and statement that the applicant has successfully completed all university requirements for the PhD should be sent directly by the appropriate university authority to

The winning applicant will be selected by a committee appointed by the NRAO Director. If, in the opinion of the committee, in any given year none of the theses are sufficiently meritorious, the award will not be given in that year.

Questions should be addressed to

Kenneth I. Kellermann
AAS Controlled Subject Tags: